Epstein named AUPO president-elect

posted February 3rd, 2010

David L. Epstein, M.D., MMM, Joseph A.C. Wadsworth Clinical Professor and Chairman of the Department of Ophthalmology, has been elected president-elect of AUPO, the Association of University Professors of Ophthalmology, the national organization for chairs of ophthalmology programs as well as program and medical student directors.

AUPO’s mission is to serve, strengthen and represent academic departments of ophthalmology; to provide support, information and leadership opportunities to departmental chairs, program directors, and other faculty members; to promote excellence in ophthalmic education; to foster vision research; and to promote ethical practice and excellence in eye care in order to ensure the best possible vision for the public.